Log In Register

Matthias Schwab

[vc_row][vc_column width=”1/5″]


Prof. Matthias Schwab, Germany


* September 3, 1963

[vc_column width=”4/5″]


1983-1990 Study of medicine, Friedrich-Alexander University of Erlangen-Nürnberg
1991 MD, Institute of Toxicology and Pharmacology, University Erlangen Nürnberg
1992 State Licence as medical doctor
1990-1995 Fellowship in children’s medicine, Nürnberg and University Erlangen Nürnberg
1996 Board certification Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine
1996-2000 fellowship in Clinical Pharmacology, IKP Stuttgart
2000 Board certification: Clinical Pharmacology
2003 Habilitation and Venia Legendi (Clinical Pharmacology and Paediatric Pharmacology) Medical Faculty, Eberhard-Karls University Tuebingen
2005-2006 Visiting Professor, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Memphis, Tennessee, USA
2006 Offer as Full Professor/Chair for Clin. Pharmacology, Medical University Innsbruck, Austria
2007 Full Professor/Chair of Clin. Pharmacology (W3/C4), Eberhard Karl University Tuebingen,
2010 Offer as Full Professor/Chair for Clin. Pharmacology, Karolinska University, Sweden in combination with a clinical position as Senior Physician at Karolinska University


1990-1993 Civilian service as house officer at the Children’s Hospital, Nuernberg, Germany
1993-1995 Senior house officer at the University Hospital of Children and Adolescents, Erlangen, Germany
1995-2000 Fellow in Clin pharmacology at the IKP, Stuttgart, Germany
2001-2005 Senior physician/Head of the Clinical Trial Unit and Drug Information Centre at IKP Stuttgart
2005-2006 Visiting Professor, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, TN, USA
Since 2007 Director of IKP Stuttgart & Dept. Clinical Pharmacology, University Hospital Tuebingen


1983-1990 Scholarship according to the “Bayerischen Begabtenförderungsgesetz” (1983 – 1990)
since 1998 Member of the Committee of Drug Safety (German Society of Child & Adolescent Medicine)
since 2006 Member and Vice Chair of the Expert Group Drugs for Children and Adolescents (BfArM)
since 2004 Member of the ethical committee of the Landesärztekammer Baden-Württemberg
2004 Friedrich Hartmut Dost Award
2005 Galenus von Pergamon Award
since 2007 Member of the „Drug Commission of the German Medical Association (AkdÄ)
since 2009 Member of the Chair of the Comprehensive Cancer Center (CCC) of the University Tübingen
since 2007 Editor-in-Chief of Pharmacogenetics & Genomics
2009 Most cited pharmacologist in German-speaking countries (Laborjournal, 2009)
since 2010 Section Editor for Personalized Medicine and Therapeutics of Genome Medicine
2010-2013 Expert for pharmacogenetics in the Gendiagnostikkommission of the BMG, Germany
2011-2015 Member of the Executive Committee of the EACPT
since 2012 Member of the Committee for Research Strategy & Coordination (University of Tuebingen)
2012 Full Member of the Academy of Science and Literature, Mainz, Germany
2012-2015 Chairman of the German Society of Clinical Pharmacology (DGKliPha)
2013-2017 Member in the Committee of Experts on Drug Prescription of the BMG, Germany
since 2013 Member of the Board of Trustees of the European Health Foundation (EHF)
since 2014 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Reference Institute for Bioanalytics (Foundation for Pathobiochemistry and Molecular Diagnostics, Bonn)
since 2014 Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
2015 President Elect of the German Society of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology


Peer reviewed articles: > 250
Most cited pharmacologist in German-speaking countries (Laborjournal, 2009).
Most cited German pharmacologist in Europe (LabTimes, 2013)