EACPT Focus Meeting 2014


First European Therapeutic Drug Monitoring Conference

Dear colleagues,

It is my honour and pleasure to invite you to the first European Therapeutic Drug Monitoring Conference, which be organised by the Czech Society of Clinical Pharmacology in cooperation with International Association of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology.
It will be held at the Diplomat Hotel in Prague, Czech Republic on August 28-30, 2014. This meeting will fill the void between the world conferences and will have a shorter programme and different selection of themes. The main focus will be on personalised pharmacotherapy, both in traditional areas (antibiotics, immunosuppressants, anticonvulsives, and cardiovascular drugs) and in new ones such as anticoagulants or nutraceutics. The conference will also focus on pharmacotherapy in pregnancy and breastfeeding, TDM in the elderly, and on the relationship between TDM, phenotyping, and genotyping and their significance for clinical practice.
As is customary at such conferences, analytical methods will be an important part of the programme; we however plan to focus more on interpretation and reporting, hoping to organise the conference for, and in cooperation with, the clinicians who are an indispensable part of the TDM process and whose feedback is essential for the success of our work.
The conference will be held in the very heart of Europe, in Prague, renowned worldwide not just for its beauty but also for its hospitality.
It is my pleasure to invite you to this conference and to the Czech Republic.

On behalf of the organising committee
Assoc. Prof. Milan Grundmann, M.D., Ph.D.
Conference President

Drugs to Fight Cardiovascular Damage

July 3-5 2014, EACPT organizes the 2014 EACPT focus meeting 'Drugs to Fight Cardiovascular Damage'. 

Location:  Radboud university medical center, Nijmegen, the Netherlands. 

Targeted audience: clinical pharmacologists, pharmacologists, (junior) scientists and clinicians interested in drug treatment of cardiovascular disease. 

Topics include: ultrasound imaging of vascular injury (including workshop to get hands-on training), microbioma and inflammation in metabolic syndrome, targeting inflammation to prevent and treat atherosclerosis, diagnosis and therapy of adrenal hypertension, protection against  ischemic-reperfusion injury.

Apart from state of the art lectures by invited speakers, academic and industrial scientists are cordially invited to submit their latest scientific results for oral or poster presentation.

For more information: rvanhugten@kenes.com.

Policy and Pharmacology

Attached is the article on the policy context for EACPT, which appeared in the Autumn 2013 seventh edition of the policy community publication Science & Technology.

MDO Congress in Stuttgart


On behalf of the local organizing committee it is our great pleasure to invite you to participate in the 20th International Symposium on Microsomes and Drug Oxidations, to be held May 18th to 22nd, in Stuttgart, capital of the Southwestern state of Germany, Baden-Württemberg. Learn more about the event here.


New European Medicines Agency advice on black triangle prompts for medicines monitoring

The EMA has launched a campaign advising on the black triangle appearing in the patient leaflet of some medicinal products. For further informations please visit the link:


Innovative Medicines Initiative

There is a presentation about the summary of activities of the Innovative Medicines Initiative (IMI1) and the future plans for IMI2.

EACPT Statement regarding the EU Clinical Trials Directive 2001/20/EC

see Attachment